国会议员敦促落实EB-5监管改革

2018年5月11日,星期五

美国公民与移民服务局(USCIS)最近发布的推文表示,EB-5计划的行政改革将成为当局2018财年的优先事项。目前,几乎可以肯定的是,一年多前推出的法规 即将最后定下来。

美国移民局新任总监Lee Francis Cissna明确表示,他希望新的EB-5行政法规尽快上马。在本年度3月5日提出改革EB-5计划的立法提案未能达成共识后, 参议院和众议院司法委员会主席Chuck Grassley(R-Ia)和Bob Goodlatte(R-Va)以及前参议院司法委员会主席Patrick Leahy(D-Vt)与4月5日在致国土安全部长(“DHS”)的联名信中敦促该部门立即采取措施不再拖延,落实2017年1月13日发布在联邦政府纪事上的拟议条例,题为“EB-5移民投资者计划现代化“。

“EB-5移民投资者计划现代化”提案中包含的重要EB-5改革包括:
增加最低投资金额
目标就业区改革。
优先日期保留。

希望国会能够克服其失灵的双党政体现状,并尽快完善EB-5计划。

信息来源:
Wolfsdorf Rosenthal LLP. (2018, Apr. 9). Regulations v. Legislation – On the Brink of EB-5 Reform. Retrieved from https://wolfsdorf.com/blog/on-the-brink-of-eb5-reform/
Grassley, Chuck. (2018, Apr. 5). Grassley, Goodlatte, Leahy Urge Trump Administration to Finalize EB-5 Regulatory Reforms. Retrieved from https://www.grassley.senate.gov/news/news-releases/grassley-goodlatte-leahy-urge-trump-administration-finalize-eb-5-regulatory

Lawmakers Urge to Finalize EB-5 Regulatory Reforms

Friday, May 11, 2018

Recent tweets from U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (“USCIS”) indicate that administrative changes to the EB-5 Program will be a priority for the Fiscal Year 2018. At present, it is almost certain that the proposed regulations introduced more than a year ago will soon be finalized.

The new USCIS Director Lee Francis Cissna, made it clearly that he wants new EB-5 regulations soon. After legislative proposals to reform the EB-5 Program failed to reach consensus in March, on April 5, Senate and House Judiciary Committee chairmen Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa) and Bob Goodlatte (R-Va.) and former Senate Judiciary Committee chairman Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.) in a joint letter to the Secretary of Homeland Security(“DHS”), urging Department to take immediate steps to finalize proposed regulations published in the Federal Register on January 13, 2017, entitled “EB-5 Immigrant Investor Program Modernization”, without further delay.

Important EB-5 reforms included in the “EB-5 Immigrant Investor Program Modernization” proposal are:
• Increased Minimum Investment Amount
• TEA Reforms.
• Priority Date Retention.

Hopefully, Congress will overcome its dysfunctional bi-partisanship and fix the EB-5 program soon.

Reference:
Wolfsdorf Rosenthal LLP. (2018, Apr. 9). Regulations v. Legislation – On the Brink of EB-5 Reform. Retrieved from https://wolfsdorf.com/blog/on-the-brink-of-eb5-reform/
Grassley, Chuck. (2018, Apr. 5). Grassley, Goodlatte, Leahy Urge Trump Administration to Finalize EB-5 Regulatory Reforms. Retrieved from https://www.grassley.senate.gov/news/news-releases/grassley-goodlatte-leahy-urge-trump-administration-finalize-eb-5-regulatory