美国参议院委员会就EB-5计划举行了监督听证会

2018年6月27日星期三

2018年6月19日,美国参议院司法委员会就投资移民EB-5计划举行了监督听证会。参加人数众多的委员会听证会重点关注与该计划相关的报告欺诈,滥用和国家安全风险,以及EB-5的未来发展方向。

在整个听证会期间,唯一的证人是美国公民及移民服务局局长Francis Cissna。 Cissna局长总结了项目的背景; 报告了美国公民及移民服务局近期采取的改善该计划管理和完整性的措施; 陈述了急需的拟议政策变化,以改革当前的计划。 此外,还主张进行立法改革,以赋予移民局所需要的权力从而进行程序化改革。 Cissna局长表示,由于该机构目前有多个优先事项,拟议的EB-5投资移民现代化和区域中心法规可能需要超出当前9月计划授权日期。

由于EB-5项目在各州取得的经济上的成就,参加会议的成员似乎倾向于改革立法和延续该计划。

欲了解更多信息,您可以在YouTube上观看听证会视频记录:

信息来源:
Cissna, Francis. (2018, Jun. 19). Hearing on “Citizenship for Sale: Oversight of the EB-5 Investor Visa Program” before the Senate Committee on the Judiciary on June 19, 2018 by USCIS Director L. Francis Cissna. Retrieved from https://www.uscis.gov/tools/resources-congress/testimonies-and-speeches/hearing-citizenship-sale-oversight-eb-5-investor-visa-program-senate-committee-judiciary-june-19-2018-uscis-director-l-francis-cissna

Greenberg Traurig, LLP. (2018, Jun. 19). Senate Judiciary Committee Holds Oversight Hearing on EB-5. Retrieved from https://www.natlawreview.com/article/senate-judiciary-committee-holds-oversight-hearing-eb-5

U.S. Senate Committee held an oversight hearing on the EB-5 Program

Wednesday, June 27, 2018

On June 19th, 2018, the U.S. Senate Committee on the Judiciary held an oversight hearing on the Immigrant Investor EB-5 Program. The well-attended committee hearing focused on reported fraud, abuse, and national security risks related to the program, and also future path for EB-5.

Throughout the hearing, the sole witness was USCIS Director Francis Cissna. Director Cissna summarized the program background; reported USCIS’s recent steps to improve the program administration and integrity; narrated much-needed proposed policy changes to reform the current program. Furthermore, advocated for legislative reform to address needed authorities for USCIS and to make programmatic changes. Director Cissna indicated that the proposed EB-5 Modernization and Regional Center regulations may take beyond the current September program authorization date to accomplish due to there are multiple agency priorities at the current time.

Attending members seemed open to reform legislation and continuation of the program citing the economic success of EB-5 program in their states.
For more information, you can watch YouTube video record on the hearing at:

Reference:
Cissna, Francis. (2018, Jun. 19). Hearing on “Citizenship for Sale: Oversight of the EB-5 Investor Visa Program” before the Senate Committee on the Judiciary on June 19, 2018 by USCIS Director L. Francis Cissna. Retrieved from https://www.uscis.gov/tools/resources-congress/testimonies-and-speeches/hearing-citizenship-sale-oversight-eb-5-investor-visa-program-senate-committee-judiciary-june-19-2018-uscis-director-l-francis-cissna

Greenberg Traurig, LLP. (2018, Jun. 19). Senate Judiciary Committee Holds Oversight Hearing on EB-5. Retrieved from https://www.natlawreview.com/article/senate-judiciary-committee-holds-oversight-hearing-eb-5